Intro to Shin Megami Tensei Series

One of my favorite video game franchise is Shin Megami Tensei. The series is created by Atlus. To put it in blunt terms, SMT is a grim monster collecting RPG series that came out before Pokemon did. Most of the design was done by legendary Kaneko Kazuma!

image

Disclaimer, I have not played all the SMT games. I would like to but I have not. The games I have not played will have a short blurb that said I have not played it. So yeah, here we go.

image

The usual SMT formula is that the player plays the role of a silent protagonist, who is usually a male high school student, in modern day Japan. There is a conflict of sort between Chaos and Law, usually represented by Lucifer and God. Chaos is usually seen as unlimited freedom resulting in anarchy, where as Law is usually seen as absolute order with no free will. Both sides are extremes and the player gets to choose which alignment to go with. Games like SMT III: Nocturne, SMT IV, Devil Survivor follows the formula.

image

Like all rules, there are exceptions. Raidou Kunoha series takes place in 1930s Japan, Digital Devil Saga where it takes place in what it look like a post-apocalyptic wasteland, Persona series where there are no alignments, and so on.

image

One of the main things that drew me into the series was the demon designs. Kazuma Kaneko has been designing most of the demons of the series. And I love how raw and genuine they feel. He holds no bars back. He is not afraid to penis or breast into the demon if that is their lore. Like Mara or six breasted Satan!

image

I want to talk about SMT games so I am putting this intro so I don’t have to repeat things over and over again.

image

The first one I will talk about will be Raidou Kuzunoha vs Soulless Army, because why not!

Leave a Reply

