Grave of the Fireflies Movie Review

Grave of the Fireflies is a historical fiction based on 1967′s semi-autobiography of the same name. The movie was released in 1988.

image

This is one of my favorite movies. It reminds me that my life is fantastic in comparison to what these two children go through.

-Characters-

image

Seita (right) is the main character and older brother to Setsuko (left). He is a middle schooler I believe and Setsuko is about 4 years old. The story follows these two trying to survive. There is no bad guy in this movie, it’s just situation is horrible.

-Story-

The story takes place at the end of World War II, in Japan, the losing side. The story starts with Seita saying this is the day he died, as we see his lifeless body collapses on the ground. This is NOT a happy story.

image

One of the first events is the fire bombing. Here, Seita and Setsuko loses their home and their mother. Because their father is in the navy, he is not present, making them practically orphans.

-The Good-

This movie is haunting. It does not hold back its punches. There are burn victims, starving to death, and children dying. The brutality of these images are incredible.

image

The fact this is based on an autobiography, where the author’s 2 sisters died, is too tragic.

There are characters that seem like dicks, but if you were in their shoes, I think you would have done the same thing…

-The Bad-

It is very hard for me to point out the bad parts. Although I have noticed that people with younger siblings like myself or parents find this movie so much more powerful than those who don’t have kids or younger sibling. That is not the movies fault….

-The Verdict-

  • Will I watch it again? Yes. I have already seen this film like 8 times
  • Do I recommend this movie? Definitely. It is one of the most powerful things I’ve seen
  • Overall Thought: Sad, this is not a happy movie. But it is a great movie.

If you like Ghibli movies and feel too happy, this is a fantastic film!

I hope you enjoyed this,

G

Leave a Reply

