Stranger Things Series Review

Stranger Things is a Netflix Original series, it came out July 2016. There are total of 8 episodes and the second season is on its way. It took me awhile, but I finally got around to finishing this short sereies.

 

-Characters-

Image result for stranger things mike

Mike Wheeler is one of the main protagonists of the series. He leads his friends to find their missing friend, Will. He and his friends are all really smart nerd who are bullied at school, ah the good times.

 

Eleven is the only character in the show that has superpowers. She is telekinetic and can communicate to the “Upsidedown”. She is socially awkward…. that is putting it mildly, and she likes Leggos.

 

Image result for stranger things will

Will Byers is Mike’s best friend and the boy that goes missing to start the plot. What exactly happened to him nor who done this deed is the mystery of the series.

 

Joyce Byers is Will’s mother and is going crazy because her baby disappeared. She discovers that her son’s disappearance is supernatural in nature and then everyone thinks she is losing her mind.

 

Image result for stranger things dustin lucas

Dustin Henderson and Lucas Sinclair are the pack members with Mike and Will. They too miss their friend Will dearly and risky everything to find him. Like Mike and Will, these two are really nerdy as well.

 

-Story-

One night, the boys, Mike, Will, Dustin and Lucas are playing D&D at Mike’s place. After the session everyone, sans Mike, returns home, but Will never makes it back. He encounters … a being, and disappears.

Image result for stranger things will

When people realize Will is missing the entire town goes into panic mode with hint of paranoia, especially Joyce, Will’s mom. The boys are now hellbent on finding their lost friend, and series of events lead to them meeting Eleven, the girl with powers.

 

-the Bad-

This may be minor thing, but Mike flip-flopping of being mad at and being infatuated by Eleven was getting on my nerves. One moment he is yelling at her, then the next he is praising her. I realize that he is a child and dealing with the opposite sex during moment of real crisis is hard, but it would also be a lie if I said it didn’t annoy me.

Image result for stranger things mike and el

 

-the Good-

Image result for stranger things

This show is very reminiscent of the good-old-days movies. If E.T. and Alien had a thriller baby, this is it. There is childlike wonders, there is cosmic horror, and there is a lot of heart. The characters are not stereotypes, and most of the cast is really likable.

 

Image result for stranger things phone

The mystery i very good. Although we see what happens to Will in the beginning of the series, it is too bizarre. And the season sees like 3 separate groups trying to piece together this one mystery individually. The characters are great and seeing them solving this super natural case was great to see.

 

-Verdict-

  • Will I watch it again? Probably not. Not that it was bad, but I don’t think I need a second watching.
  • Do I recommend it? Sure. It wasn’t the greatest thing I’ve seen. But it was a fun ride. It was nice and short, and I want to see what happens in the next season.

 

-Final Thoughts-

My thoughts on this was good, not great, but good. My coworkers were telling me that this is a must see, and their opinions were backed up by the peoples of the inter-webs. So I decided to see for myself. I wasn’t disappointed, but I wasn’t blown away either.

I hope you don;t hate me with that statement. Hope you liked it!

Gihoon

One thought on “Stranger Things Series Review

Leave a Reply

