Guardian of the Galaxy 2 Movie Review

Ohana means family. Family means nobody gets left behind or forgotten” ― Lilo and stitch.

If you’ve been living under a rock and somehow ended on on this post, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 2 is sequel to 2014’s Guardians of the Galaxy. It is a Marvel movie that give half a shit about being a Marvel movie. It was released in May of 2017 and I had a chance to see it for my birthday!

 

Characters

Image result for guardians of the galaxy 2

Peter Quill (center) aka Starlord is the protagonist once again. He is now official Guardian and not a bounty hunter, although he seems like sometimes do that. He has a lot of issues, mainly daddy issues.

Gamora (green lady), if you remember, is Thanos’ daughter and very powerful warrior. She is having a lot of personal troubles: her relationship with Peter might not be just friends, and her sister

 

Image result for guardians of the galaxy vol. 2 mantis

Mantis is one of the new characters in the movie. She has power to feel and change other people’s emotions. She is very innocent and just wants people to like her.

 

Image result for guardians of the galaxy vol. 2 ego

Ego is the main new character, I don’t want to say too much since almost all about him is a spoiler, if you’ve seen the trailer, you can probably guess who and where he is going.

 

the Bad

Image result for guardians of the galaxy 2 goo

Some of the effects in the movie seemed very noticeabley fake. I mean Gamora and Drax look beautiful, but some of the larger aliens looked fake. I know that it is makeup vs CG, but I felt that the movie could’ve done a better job than this. So I am asking for more practical effects.

 

The bad guy, pretends to be good. But says something so evil, it immediately outs him as the villain. I don’t know if this was intentional or a slip on his part, but it seemed like it was there to move the plot along rather than an organic transition. I am being vague to reduce spoilers.

 

the Good

Oh boy, where do I start…

Image result for guardians of the galaxy 2 baby groot

The action has a different role in this movie. Not to be the cool breath taker but to be back drop of a funnier, and usually better, scene. In this movie, action is there to accentuate the comedy, and unlike Dr. Strange, the comedy is on point in this movie.

 

Image result for guardians of the galaxy 2

The characters are great. Since the main cast is set up from the last movie, we can get straight to developing them. So we get to juicy stuff: Peter’s daddy issues, Rocket’s pushing away of those he love, Gamora and Nebula’s complicated sisterhood, and Baby Groot being cute.

 

Am I the only one that is tired of this expanded universe tie ins for literally everthing. I feel like everything has expanded universe these days: DC expanded universe, Universal monsters expanded universe, apparently there was a plan for expanded universe… I mean is there a need for so much? But this movie is different. It was not a commercial for Avengers 3, it actually had almost no connection to other other Marvel franchises, I liked that. I wish this will keep up, but I doubt it.

 

Image result for guardians of the galaxy 2 visual

While I criticized the the special effects, some of the visuals as exceptional. Yes, special effects and visuals are different things. Many parts of the movies emulate what you would see on music labels and music videos, they were great.

 

Veridct

  • Will I watch it again? Yes, oh man yes.
  • Do I recommend it? Yes. I thought this one surpassed the first movie.

 

Final Thoughts

Image result for guardians of the galaxy 2

This is one of the funniest movies I’ve seen in a while. I enjoyed it from beginning to the end. It was funny, exciting, and very enjoyable. I had expectations of this movie, and it surpassed it in every way.

I hope you liked it!

Gihoon

Leave a Reply

